Musings of a young black weirdo

Back to Basics

I created this blog so I could get back to my creative side. I don’t remember the last time I wrote anything, and I figured a blog would be good for me to get my creative juices flowing. This isn’t really intended for other people to see; it’s more of a personal journal, just a little more green since it’s online.

Since I’ve been home from school the past few days, I’ve been thinking about what makes me happy, and I realized that I haven’t used my right brain in a while. I’ve been so consumed in school and work and AKA that I let writing and choir, two things I LOVE to do, fall by the wayside. Hopefully, by starting this blog, I’ll have an outlet to pour out my emotions, thoughts, poems, and random blurbs that run through my brain (there are a lot of those). I’ll probably upload some of my inspirations including hair inspirations, art, musicians, fine men (lol), and whatever else I come across.

That brings me to my banner and background. My banner is a part of a piece of art created by an artist named Erika Iris Simmons (google her!). The whole thing was a picture of Lauryn Hill, and the banner is cropped to show only her eyes. The whole piece is created with cassette tape ribbon. Tight! The background is a picture of paints I found on http://www.colourlovers.com/craft/blog/2009/04/07/the-colorful-art-of-thangkas. The webpage talks about Buddhist banners created to honor various deities. The pictures describe a story or myth involving that deity and are used during rituals or ceremonies. I love art and the stories behind it. And that’s just one story I happened to learn today. ๐Ÿ™‚

I guess that’s enough of my ramblings for tonight. If anybody happens to stumble upon this, I hope you’re not too horribly bored. Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

