Musings of a young black weirdo

Wow. Overall, 2010 has been a year of a little bit of everything. Triumphs, struggles, joys, pains, love, hate. A lot of good things have happened this year: I became an AKA, I became un-single, I got a twitter (!), and I got one step closer to graduation. I really didn’t expect much out of 2010. 2009 was a GREAT year, mostly because I claimed it and decided that 2009 would be the year things happened in my life. And they did. 2009 was filled with a little bit of everything,and I’m thankful for everything that happened that year. So when 2010 came around, I couldn’t think of too much else that could happen to me. I was wrong. I did things I never thought I would do, met people I will never forget, and realized who my true friends are.

One thing I’ve learned is that you can’t look at years as individual instances within your life, but rather a series of events that continue to build onto each other. If you’re blessed, those events will culminate into something you can call a pretty damn good life. If not, well, sucks for you. I’ve learned to take even the crappiest stuff that’s happened to me, learn from it, and move on. The people who do this can take anything and turn it into positive motivation instead of making it an excuse to underachieve. Nothing makes me madder than people sitting on potential and making excuses instead of making moves. We’ve all been through shit. You can either sit in it or make it into fertilizer. Your choice.

Make 2011 a great year instead of making excuses 🙂

Life happens! And you deal with it with dignity, grace, and sensible shoes. –Melanie Barnett (The Game)

And yes, I quoted a fictional character.

Leave a Reply

