Musings of a young black weirdo

12 year olds suck.

So I was watching Disney Channel just now (don’t judge me), and this commercial with a kid came on. He was like 12, and he was talking about the time he changed the world. He was saying how when the tsunami hit in 2004, he got all the kids in Canada to raise like $1.3 million for tsunami relief. The kid was like 6. Stuff like that makes me feel like I haven’t done anything in my life. I’m 21, and the most money I ever raised was a middle school fundraiser or something and it was probably $50 or so. I’ve never done anything to make a huge effect in the world, and this 12 year old kid made me feel inferior. I have a bad habit of comparing myself to other people, but they’re usually people my age. I always feel like someone is doing better than me, and instead of letting that inspire me, I let it intimidate me and make me feel bad about what I haven’t done in comparison to someone else. So comparing myself to a 12 year old who’s done more fundraising than I’ll ever do can’t be healthy. I guess I’ll start thinking like a 12 year old and try to change the world.

Leave a Reply

