Musings of a young black weirdo

Old poem, same feelings

I can’t tell you when I wrote this… sometime in 2009. But I really like it because it describes my insecurities really well. It’s called Striving for Perfection.

Striving for perfection
for something I can’t obtain
So the boys will think I’m pretty
And the girls won’t think I’m plain

I rock the hottest outfits
Well, the best I can afford
but I make em look expensive
when I sit in my room bored.

My mommy says I’m pretty
No matter what they say
“So why don’t no one like me?”
I asked out loud one day

They say they think I’m boring
Useless, ugly, or a mess
But suddenly I realized
That I don’t have to impress

You or you or you
or even that guy over there
Cuz if it’s not my clothes,
Then it’s my makeup or my hair

Striving for perfection
for something I can’t obtain
Trying to please everyone
might make me go insane.

Leave a Reply

