Musings of a young black weirdo

This one doesn’t really need a disclaimer, sooo here it is…

Dear Parents,

Thank you. Not for all the things you did for me, but for all you didn’t do. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate all the help with math homework and dropping me off at school dances and whatnot, but that’s not what has shaped me into the person I am today. It’s all the stuff you don’t want people to know that has molded me.

I want to say thank you for showing me what a dysfunctional relationship is like so that I don’t go through that myself. Thank you for working all the time so that I learned how to take care of myself. Thank you for not being reliable so that I know to only trust myself. Thank you for lying so that I know how to sniff out bullshit from a mile away.

Mama, thank you for not standing up for us so that I can say I know a woman who chose a man over her kids. Thank you for having low self-esteem so that I know to have the opposite. Thank you for settling for a man just because he knocked you up so that I know what not to do if I’m ever in that situation. *knocks on wood*

Daddy, thank you for being a horrible excuse for a man so that I know what not to look for. Thank you for hurting me so bad that I’ll one day be able to feel true happiness. Thank you for only being negative so that I can truly appreciate positivity. Thank you for being a “father” but not a “dad” so that I know the difference. Thank you for throwing money at me to show your “love” so that I don’t find value in money and so that one day I can truly experience love with a real man.

Thank you. From the bottom of my heart. I couldn’t be me without the shit I’ve been through.

Love,

Your daughter.

Comments on: "Day 3–Letter to my Parents" (1)

  1. ditto..

Leave a Reply

