Musings of a young black weirdo

First Kiss

I could smell it in the air:
Anticipation, nervousness, lust. Thoughts
Racing a mile a minute. Is this it?
Is it going to happen?

The background, the sounds, they get blurry and
All I can see are your eyes, deep brown pools
Filled with all the hopes in the world.

I am snapped out of the trance that I am
Placed in by your smell, and I see your lips
As they inch toward mine.

I feel the brush of your lips against mine
And a brief moment that felt like the
Culmination of a lifetime of waiting
Is over just as soon as it began.

Leave a Reply

