Musings of a young black weirdo

Relocation.

When I first found out that I got a job in Tampa, Florida, I was soooooooooooooo excited. I called my mama (just like a black person smh), my sandz Brittany, and my best friend, and I was probably SCREAMING in all their ears. I finally got a job after 7 months of looking and stressing and freaking out.

Fast forward a week, after I looked at apartments and talked to a bunch of different people about moving down there, I got really really sad because I realized that, even though living by the beach as a 21-year old college grad is epic, it’s not as great without the people you love. And the people I love would all be 12 hours away. I would be all alone in a new place with nothing but my clothes and books to comfort me. *Insert an hour or so of sadness, crying, and talking to Brittany about how ridiculous it is that I felt this way.*

It took me a few days (ok, maybe weeks) to get over the sadness, but now I’m happy and excited again. I slowly began to realize what relocating means:

  • It means I get to move to a state I haven’t lived in before that’s VERY different than Tennessee or Kentucky.
  • It means I can get (and decorate!) my first apartment!
  • It means I can start over. I don’t have anybody there that knew me before, so I can do whatever I want (within reason) and people won’t wonder why I’m acting “different” or “brand new.”
  • It means I can meet new people that I would never have met at WKU or at home. Maybe I’ll meet a new boo (?!) or some friends that are completely different than anyone I associate with now.
  • It means I can go to the beach whenever I want (my personal favorite!)
  • It means that my family and friends have a chance to miss me. You know what they say… Absence makes the heart grow fonder :]
  • It means I can pick and choose what embarrassing moments I can share with my friends. Now I don’t have to worry about embarrassing myself in front of EVERYBODY I love… just some new friends and coworkers lol
  • It means I can overcome my fear of being alone in a new place for a long period of time. This is probably the biggest one.

Ambrose Redmoon once said:

Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear.”

For the first time in my life, I’m not completely sure what’s gonna happen to me in the next few months. And yes, I’m afraid. But I would rather dive headfirst into a new life than stay in my comfort zone and always wonder what if. So, as much as I hate to leave, I hate to throw away a great opportunity even more. See yall at Homecoming. 🙂

Comments on: "Relocation." (2)

  1. AHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So incredibly happy for you! As much as I want you to stay, I know that you would be holding yourself back by sticking around. You’re gonna do great things and I can’t wait to hear about them! Pave the way and we’ll meet up somewhere down the road. 🙂

Leave a Reply

