Musings of a young black weirdo

I don’t understand.

So there are a lot of things that I really just don’t understand about life, and I’m gonna make a list of them.

  • I don’t understand why myspace still exists.
  • I don’t understand why store clerks feel the need to follow me around while I’m shopping. I wasn’t thinking about stealing until you crept around the corner and thought I couldn’t see you.
  • I don’t understand why people think they’re better than others just because they’re a certain color/gender/age/sexual orientation/religion.
  • I don’t understand how people can be so judgmental when they’re nowhere near perfect.
  • I don’t understand how people care more about the new Jay Z and Kanye album than about starving children.
  • I don’t understand how people think beer tastes good.
  • I don’t understand why people don’t know the difference between your/you’re, there/their/they’re, whose/who’s, and to/too/two. We all passed the 3rd grade.
  • I don’t understand why people with no talent *cough* Cassie *cough* can be famous but people with a good singing voice are doing covers on YouTube.
  • I don’t understand why people think they have the right to tell other people what to do with their bodies, who to love/marry, or what to believe.
  • I don’t understand why people spend money they don’t have to impress people they don’t like with things they don’t need. (Kinda stole that one from Will Smith).
  • I don’t understand why people criticize but don’t offer an alternative solution. If you don’t have anything to add, then shut up.
  • I don’t understand why people lump people into categories. Yes, I’m black. That’s not all I am.
  • I don’t understand why people assume that just because someone is on welfare that they’re living off the system. You don’t know what their story is, so don’t judge them.
  • I don’t understand why love is so complicated. I really don’t.
  • I don’t understand why sports are more important in our society than intellect.
  • I don’t understand why the 90’s had to end. They were great.
  • I don’t understand why it’s so hot outside.
  • I don’t understand what’s so hard about recycling when the recycling bin is right beside the trash can. Like, really?
  • I don’t understand why I’m supposed to hate my color, hair, lips, nose, and culture.
  • I don’t understand lacefronts.
  • I don’t understand why Black history is separate from World history.

If you can explain any of these things to me, feel free to comment on this post. đŸ™‚

Comments on: "I don’t understand." (1)

  1. Well, dear. It seems myself and corey are gonna have to sit down and explain to you the answer to #6. It’s okay that you don’t understand the cool, crisp, almost majestic taste of a good brew. You’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

